Awards & Scholarships

The Tennessee Association of School Librarians annually sponsors four awards and two scholarships. The Innovative Library Award recognizes an innovative program at the elementary, middle, and high school level and comes with a $500 prize. The Clara Hasbrouck Award is given to a TASL member who has demonstrated dedication and commitment to furthering the cause of school libraries in Tennessee by contributing time, leadership and effort to numerous TASL activities over a period of years. The Administrator's Honor Roll recognizes supervisors, principals, and superintendents who have shown outstanding support for the library media programs in Tennessee. The Teacher Collaboration Award recognizes exemplary classroom teachers who collaborate with the school librarian. The winner of this award will receive $500. In 2004, TASL began the sponsorship of a scholarship for a student enrolled in a school media program at a Tennessee college or university that is approved to certify Library Information Specialists. The one-time grant is $1,000 and is meant to increase the ranks of individuals within the school library profession. This year, TASL, TLA, and Capstone have joined forces to award the Diversity in School Librarianship Scholarship of $1500 to a student from historically underrepresented racial/ethnic groups pursuing a graduate degree in library/information science as they work towards becoming a school librarian.  

All awards have an application deadline of September 1.
Winners will be honored during the 2023 TASL Conference during the opening session on November 5, at the Embassy Suites in Murfreesboro, TN.

TASL Presidential Award

This award is given to a program or event in recognition of meritorious support of Tennessee school librarians’ mission to strengthen school library media services, create and sustain life-long readers, and improve information literacy in our state.  Award winners are chosen by the current TASL president and leadership team through the American Association of School Librarians Affiliate Assembly Commendation process.  In addition, recipients of this award will be submitted to AASL Affiliate Assembly for possible national recognition. 

2023: Limitless Libraries

2022: Tennessee Youth Coalition

2021: Read to Succeed & WATE (ABC) Knoxville, TN National School Library Month Report

2016: Southeastern Young Adult Book Festival

2015: Knox County Public Library’s Children’s Festival of Reading

2015: AASL Commendation:  Knox County Public Library’s Children’s Festival of Reading