Volunteer State Book Award

Scot Smith, Oak Ridge Schools: [email protected]
Patricia Rua-Bashir, Nashville Public LIbrary: [email protected]

Primary Committee Chair: Piper Nyman, Metro Nashville Public Schools: [email protected]
Intermediate Chair: Jamie Kelly, Knox County Schools: [email protected]
Middle School Chair: 
Emily Farmer, Nashville Public Library: [email protected]
High School Chair: Emily Farmer, Nashville Public Library: [email protected]
Publicity Committee Chair: Emily Farmer, Nashville Public Library: [email protected]

The Volunteer State Book Award is sponsored annually by the Tennessee Library Association and the Tennessee Association of School Librarians. Each year, children across Tennessee are asked to read books from a list of nominated titles.  The Volunteer State Book Award has four divisions--Primary (Grades K-2), Intermediate (Grades 3-5), Middle School (Grades 6-8), and high school (Grades 9-12).  In the spring, those students who have read or listened to at least three of the titles from the list are eligible to vote for their favorite titles. These votes are tabulated and sent to the state organization. The book with the most votes statewide wins the award. The author of the book receives a plaque and is invited to Tennessee to receive the award


Vote Now for the 2020 Volunteer State Book Awards

"The online ballots for the 2019-2020 Volunteer State Book Awards are linked below. The deadline to submit the ballots is Friday, May 27.

TLA and TASL are monitoring the closures of schools and libraries across the state and will develop a contingency plan for voting in case libraries remain closed for the rest of the school year.

Just a reminder that for your library to be eligible to participate in the voting for the VSBA, it must have at least twelve of the twenty titles from that division's nominated titles in its collection. For patrons to be eligible to vote, they must have read or listened to at least three titles from the list they are voting on. We encourage all public and school libraries to participate in the voting process this spring. If you have questions or concerns about how to vote, please contact the VSBA co-chairs Scot Smith and Pat Bashir. Their contact information is at the top of this page.



2018-2019 VSBA Winners   

Primary Division:
Grade K-2

I  Yam a Donkey

written by Cece Bell

Clarion Books, 2015

Intermediate Division:
Grades 3-5


written by Raina Telgemeier

Graphix, 2016

Middle School Division:
Grades 6-8


written by Neal Shusterman

Simon & Shuster, 2016

High School Division:
Grades 9-12


written by Neal Shusterman

Simon & Shuster, 2016

We would like to thank every librarian, student, and patron who participated in voting for the 2018-2019 Volunteer State Book Award. We had excellent participation in the Primary and Intermediate divisions. A special thanks goes to the chairs and members of the three nominating committees for developing such wonderful lists for children and teens of Tennessee. 


2019-2020 Volunteer State Book Award Nominee List 

2020-2021 Volunteer State Book Award Nominee List  


VSBA PowerPoints

2019-2020 VSBA Primary PowerPoint 

2019-2020 VSBA Intermediate PowerPoint 

2019-2020 VSBA Middle School PowerPoint 

2019-2020 VSBA High School PowerPoint 



Other links: