TASL Annual Business Meeting Minutes

September 9, 2022

Welcome, Introductions and Call to Order

Katie Capshaw

The annual business meeting of the Tennessee Association of School Librarians was held September 9, 2022. President Katie Capshaw called the meeting to order at 12:14 PM, CST and welcomed members and special guests. Caroline Mickey made a motion to call the meeting to order and Katelyn Jernigan seconded. Motion passed.

Recognition of Legislative Task Force

Katie Capshaw

Lindsey Kimery, Amanda Smithfield, Blake Hopper, Xan Lasko, and Tiffany Tucker were recognized for their efforts in advocating for school libraries at the state level.

Reading and Approval of Minutes

Becca Chen

The minutes from the 2021 annual business meeting were available online. The secretary asked members to review these and the president called for additions and corrections. There were none. Brandi Hartsell made a motion to accept and Dinah Wade seconded. Motion passed.

Treasurer's Report

Ginny Britt

The Treasurer's Report was provided to members. The Treasurer asked members to review the report and asked for questions. There were none. Report stands as presented.

Voting Measures

Nominating Committee Recommendations

Katie Capshaw

Katie Capshaw announced the recommendations of the nominating committee for the following slate of officers for 2022:

President: Katelyn Jernigan President- Elect: Dustin Hensley Secretary: Heather Alexander Treasurer: Mallory Nygard Past-President: Katie Capshaw

President Katie Capshaw, asked for nominations from the floor. There were none. President Katie Capshaw asked if there was a motion to accept the slate of officers. Liz Miller made a motion to accept and Julie Shaver seconded. Motion carries.

Membership Martha Harris

We had a total of 693 members in 2022:

Obion River - 36

Red River - 64

Davidson - 100

Falling Water - 27

Clinch River - 29

Holston River - 72

Knox - 49

Ocoee River - 30

Hamilton - 23

Stones River - 82

Buffalo River - 79

Hatchie River - 22

Shelby - 55

Affiliate Introductions and News

TEL Andrea Zielke

Secretary of State Tre Hargett announces James Ritter has been selected as the next Tennessee State Librarian and Archivist. Ritter, who served as the State Librarian of Maine for the last eight years, started his new position on July 25, 2022.

TEL added Commercial Appeal, Knoxville News Sentinel and a new version of the Nashville Tennessean. TEL also added Newspapers.com Southeast Edition.

TLA Kate Pritchard

Kate Pritchard was introduced as our new TLA liaison.

TENN-SHARE Ari Baker

The Tenn-Share Showcase will be on October 25th-27th, 12-4pm CT. It will be virtual. There is a call for new board member nominations.

AASL Katie Capshaw

Katie Capshaw is our Tennessee delegate and serves on the Member Engagement Committee.

Recognition of Past Presidents

Lindsey Kimery

The following Past Presidents were in attendance and were recognized:

- Nancy Dickerson, 2003
- Diane Chen, 2004
- Lynn Caruthers, 2008
- Becky Jackman, 2010
- Hannah Little, 2012
- Misty Jenkins, 2017
- Blake Hopper, 2018
- In memoriam, Patty Williams 1996-1997

Professional Development

Blake Hopper and Dustin Hensley

Summer PD was a huge success. We had over 200 attendees across the state. We plan to do one online session and several in person next year. Look for info in the Spring.

Call to Conference Katelyn Jernigan

Katelyn Jernigan announced next year's conference dates. The conference will be on November 5-7, 2023, in Murfreesboro. The theme will be "Band Together."

Recognition of Katie Capshaw

Katelyn Jernigan

Katelyn Jernigan presented Katie Capshaw with a gift for her service to TASL.

Microcredentials

Dustin Hensley and Heather Alexander

- The following members completed activities equaling 10 or more points, earning the All-Star badge:
 - Christa Cordrey, White House Heritage High
 - Brian Seadorf, Blackman High
 - Katie Capshaw, Christiana Middle
 - Kelly Messerly, Smyrna West Alternative
 - Misti Jenkins, Blackman High
 - Katelyn Jernigan, Tusculum Elementary
 - Lindsey Kimery, Metro Nashville Public Schools
 - Kelly Shipman, Bruce Elementary
 - Heather Alexander, East Robertson Elementary

o Caramia Milloway, Oak Ridge High

Adjournment Katie Capshaw

The meeting adjourned at 12:45 PM, CST. Tiffany Tucker moved to adjourn the meeting. Jeanette Kenyon seconded. Motion carries.

Respectfully submitted,

Becca Chen, TASL Secretary 2022