TASL EXECUTIVE BOARD EMERGENCY MEETING MINUTES - February 20, 2020

Welcome, Introductions and Call to Order: An executive board emergency meeting of the Tennessee Association of School Librarians was held virtually on February 20, 2020. The meeting convened at 4:00 P.M. CST with Past-President Jennifer Sharp presiding.

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT

Vicki Winstead Lindsey Kimery Ginny Britt Jennifer Sharp Elizabeth Shepherd Melanie Collins Sherry Copeland Johnnie Sue Hawley Liz Hicks Angela Secrest Julie Stepp Cathy Sanders Katelyn Jernigan Raina Scoggins Sandi Walden

VOTING MEMBERS NOT PRESENT

Emily Squires Anita Fentress Martha Harris Lee Houston

OTHERS PRESENT

Blake Hopper Katie Cozzens

SUSPENSION OF BY-LAWS

Jennifer Sharp

It was brought to Jennifer's attention that when we made changes to the cost of things in order to prevent our organization from going into the red in 2020 at the September 2019 board meeting that specifically the cost of membership rising should have been approved by a majority of the membership after it was approved by the board. Today's meeting is an effort to make amendments to the September minutes so that this issue is resolved and efforts are put in place to make those cost changes permanent from 2020 forward. M-FEB20-01: Blake Hopper moved to amend the motions made at the September 2019 board meeting to increase dues for membership. Johnnie Sue Hawley seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-02: Blake Hopper moved to temporarily suspend the by-laws in order for us to change membership dues for membership year 2020 due to financial emergency. Raina Scoggins seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-03: Vicki Winstead moved to eliminate the two year membership option for membership year 2020. Katelyn Jernigan seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-04: Katelyn Jernigan moved to make the base pay for membership \$50 for membership year 2020. Ginny Britt seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-05: Katelyn Jernigan moved to raise all \$15 membership fees to \$30 and the supervisor and professor to \$50 for membership year 2020. Vicki Winstead seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-06: Raina Scoggins moved to raise corporate membership costs to \$100 for membership year 2020. Ginny Britt seconded. Motion carries.

These motions will be presented this fall 60 days in advance of conference to the Executive Board and 30 days in advance of conference to the general membership in order to make these changes permanent.

DISCUSSIONS:

Raina Scoggins was asked a question by some librarians in her district about a possible price adjustment for part-time librarians. Jennifer Sharp suggested that Vicki Winstead put that on the agenda of the April board meeting in addition to solidifying the list changes that will be presented to membership this fall. Johnnie Sue Hawley suggested that we simply add that category onto an existing category.

ADJOURNMENT

M-FEB20-07: Johnnie Sue Hawley moved to adjourn. Katelyn Jernigan seconded. Motion carries. The meeting adjourned at 4:23PM.

FEBRUARY 20, 2020 MOTION SUMMARY

M-FEB20-01: Blake Hopper moved to amend the motions made at the September 2019 board meeting to increase dues for membership. Johnnie Sue Hawley seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-02: Blake Hopper moved to temporarily suspend the by-laws in order for us to change membership dues for membership year 2020 due to financial emergency. Raina Scoggins seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-03: Vicki Winstead moved to eliminate the two year membership option for membership year 2020. Katelyn Jernigan seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-04: Katelyn Jernigan moved to make the base pay for membership \$50 for membership year 2020. Ginny Britt seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-05: Katelyn Jernigan moved to raise all \$15 membership fees to \$30 and the supervisor and professor to \$50 for membership year 2020. Vicki Winstead seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-06: Raina Scoggins moved to raise corporate membership costs to \$100 for membership year 2020. Ginny Britt seconded. Motion carries.

M-FEB20-07: Johnnie Sue Hawley moved to adjourn. Katelyn Jernigan seconded. Motion carries. The meeting adjourned at 4:23PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Elizabeth Shepherd

TASL Secretary 2020