Tennessee Association of School Librarians Business Meeting November 21, 2008 Franklin Marriott Cool Springs

The annual business meeting of the 17th Annual Tennessee Association of School Librarians convened at 10:00 a.m. on November 21, 2008, at the Franklin Marriott Cool Springs. President Lynn Caruthers began the meeting by recognizing welcoming all attendees, and discussing the theme for this year's conference "Be A Guiding Light @ Your Library".

Lynn recognized the influential people who helped put together this year's conference. First-time conference attendees were asked to stand and be recognized. Numerous participants stood in the room at that time. Announcements were made including the roundtable committee meetings scheduled for the evening, the Executive Board meeting after the awards dinner, the conference evaluation form, TEA form requirements, 2009 dues, and certificate of participation which will be available at the registration desk. The participating vendors and their input were recognized.

The Business meeting was called to order at 10:30 a.m. Paige Eisemann read the minutes from the business meeting held on November 16. 2007. Copies were distributed on the chairs in the meeting room. Lynn Caruthers made the motion to accept the minutes and several members seconded the motion.

Carol Burr gave the treasurer's report. Total income was reported at \$78,716.60. Expenses to date were \$20,527.99. Our current balance is \$82,153.01 It was pointed out that the majority of income comes from membership and stressed the importance of paying dues early in the year. It was also mentioned that the cost of the conference and membership has affected the income and expenditures of the association. It was noted out that the totals for expenses and current balance do not reflect outstanding expenditures.

Nancy Dickinson (Membership Chair) introduced Sara Kelly Johns, past president of AASL. Johns shared greetings from AASL, and address the morning news of Metro Nashville schools consolidating school and public libraries. She thanked Betsy Stubblefield and Margaret Hausauer for making her so welcome at our conference. In her speech she discussed standards, intellectual freedoms, and the unveiling of the "parent advocate toolkit" on the AASL website.

Lynn Caruthers recognized notable members of the association including: Diane Chen- ALA Executive Board Nancy Dickinson- AASL Director of Region 4 Allison Roberts- Region 4- Director Elect Beth Jackson- Newbery Committee

Allison Roberts spoke about professional development opportunities coming up for the next year, including Kary Barth of Kapco workshops held on:

January 29- Chattanooga

June 22-23 Memphis

June 24-25 Nashville

June 29-30 Chattanooga

July 1 & 2 Morristown

Donna Jerden, TEA membership coordinator spoke of her journey from school library media specialist to Library Advocate with the TEA.

Bruce Hester gave conference updates and made announcements regarding the TASL Bookstore and the Reading Source vendor, volunteer forms, and a silent auction for a MacBook iBook G4. He also issued the call to conference for 2009, and announced the theme "Explore, Excite, Empower". The conference will be held in a new hotel in Murfreesboro next year which Bruce predicts will be a great facility for us as it includes room for all vendors to be in one room, offers continental breakfast and happy hour. Bruce also asked the body to not that conference has been moved to September 24-26 next year because our usual November dates will conflict with the AASL conference which will be held in Charlotte, NC. All members are encouraged to attend the AASL conference since it is so close to us geographically.

Lynn Caruthers called for the recognition of the 2008 Executive Board officers. Those recognized are as follows:

Bruce Hester- Vice President/President Elect

Margaret Hausauer- Past President

Paige Eisemann- Secretary

Carol Burr- Treasurer

Cathy Kendall- West TN Rep

Tina Johnson- West TN Rep

Pam Renfrow- West TN Rep

Pam Chowning- Middle TN Rep

Betsy Stubblefield- Middle TN Rep

Becky Jackman- Middle TN Rep

Carol Reams- East TN Rep

Allison Roberts- East TN Rep

Belinda Castille- East TN Rep

Also asked to stand and be recognized were Scot Smith, TASL members presenting at the conference and committee chairs as follows:

Nancy Dickinson- Membership

Roberta Dunn- Awards

Judy Bivens- Certification and Standards

Patty Williams- Volunteer State Book Awards

Allison Roberts- Professional Development

Jeanette Lambert- Advocacy

Bruce Hester- Conference 2008

Shelly Arnett- Technology

Margaret Hausauer- Conference Program 2008

The slate of officers for the 2009 TASL Executive Board as announced with the office of President being held by Bruce Hester, President Elect/Vice President being held by Becky Jackman, treasurer being held by Carol Burr (already elected for a 2 year term until December 31, 2009) and secretary being held by Paige Eisemann. A call for nominations came before the floor, and when none were received the 2009 officers were accepted by a vote.

Lynn discussed opportunities to be a "guiding light" for TASL and her school during her tenure as president of the TASL. She told the group of the amazing things she participated in such as the announcement of the Coretta Scott King awards, Caldecott and Newbery award announcements, meeting with legislators on a state and nation al level, and networking with librarians across the country. She thanked the association for allowing her the opportunity to serve and find her "guiding light".

The business meeting was called to a close at 11:15 AM, with motion made by Nancy Dickinson and seconded by several members.

Diane Chen introduced keynote speaker Deb Logan who discussed ALA involvement by school libraries and how to "give a face to advocacy".

The contact information for Nashville mayor Karl Dean were given as: 615-862-6000 karl.dean@nashville.gov Switchboard 202-225-3121

Respectfully submitted,

Paige Eisemann, secretary