## TASL Executive Board Meeting November 21, 2008 Franklin Marriott Cool Springs

Welcome and introduction activity.

Meeting called to order at 9:30 by President Lynn Caruthers. Those in attendance are noted in attached document at bottom of minutes.

**Paige Eisemann read minutes from the August 9, 2008 meeting**. Carol Burr and Pam Renfrow corrected minutes. The motion to accept the corrected minutes was made by Bruce Hester and seconded by Becky Jackman.

Paige Eisemann has been officially appointed by Lynn Caruthers as the secretary to finish the 2008 calendar year.

Awards/Innovative Libr. Award- Lynn Caruthers read a report from Pam Renfrow. stating the names of the scholarship winners, Suzanne Minga and Becky Hornsby. Pam Renfro discussed Innovative Library Award and the number of submissions for this year with emphasis on higher-grade levels. She would like to put more emphasis on innovative and voluntary programs, clarifying what the committee is looking for including time length for DVD/CD submissions. The statement was made that the LMS is responsible submits, is NOT nominated. Discussion about including wording "for school year just ending prior to June 30" be added to submission literature to clarify the time frame for entries. The group discussed changing the "nominees' name" to "applicants' name" to clarify. The motion to accept as changes was made by Back Jackman and seconded by Cathy Kendall.

As Paige Eisemann passed around sign in sheet, given the high number of people in attendance. Gifts were distributed by Lynn Caruthers. Bruce Hester gave gifts to those who helped establish the conference and make it a success this year. Lynn spoke a few words about her time as president. Professional Development, Allison Roberts: The board discussed feedback Allison received at the roundtable discussions held earlier in the day. The main concern Allison noted was the cost of a 2-day workshop for summer of 2009. It has been suggested that the cost for a TASL member be \$75, and for non-members it be \$120 to encourage people to join. Allison asked for discussion and thoughts on this topic. People at the roundtable suggested librarians HOSTING to avoid hotel costs for those who travel. Lodging arrangements were discussed. Allison mentioned that she had to cut the roundtable discussion short, there were ideas for professional development opportunities give well into the 2012 school year. Cathy Kendall and Allison discussed having sponsors on the second day of each event, perhaps having 6 vendors at each site. They have spoken to vendors about this opportunity and all were receptive and excited. There was some concern about space available at all the sites for vendors, but some vendors mentioned sponsoring breakfast or lunch for attendees, or given money for expenditures for this purpose. Carol Burr raised the question that if vendors mentioned donating to conference as well as summer professional development opportunities that would not be a problem, but we do not wish to cut down on vendors participation in the conference. Allison stated that Carol has agreed to handle all the monies for registration. She also mentioned that the roundtable asked about having something in Jackson or Cookeville on President's Day 2010. Options for this event were to have Judy Bivens speak about current library school terms, what is happening in our field, etc.

## **Area Representatives:**

East TN: Allison Roberts shared a question about newsletter and suggested the idea of an August/September bulk mailing, using school system "pony courier", email, etc to cut down on mailing costs for the newsletter.

West TN: Cathy Kendall stated that she invited TEA President Earl Wyman to our 2009 conference.

**Old Business**: none

**New Business**: Carol Burr mentioned putting up officers to be elected on the website. Becky Jackman noted that in the by-laws the nominated committee appoints area representatives.

**Motion to adjourn** was made by Belinda Castille at 10:35 PM and was seconded by Bruce Hester.

Respectfully submitted by Paige Eisemann

## Exec. Bd. Mtg. Attendees

## **November 21, 2008**

Barbara Winningham- MT Rep. <u>bwinningham@livingstonwildcats.com</u>

barwing@excite.com

Hannah Little- MT Rep. <u>hlittle@webbschool.com</u>

MaryBeth Hunt- No assignment <u>acelibrarylady@att.net</u>

Pam Renfrow-WT Rep. prenfrow@saa-sdsorg

Carol Burr burrc@k12tn.net

Tina Johnson <u>pastajohnson3@eplus.net</u>

Pam Chowning <u>pam.chowning@ezellharding.com</u>

Betsy Stubblefield <u>Elizabeth.stubblefield@mnps.org</u>

Jeanette Lambert-Advocacy Chair JBL96@aol.com

Nancy Dickinson-Mbrship fsufan23@gmail.com

Belinda Castille- NE Rep <u>bwcastille@hotmail.com</u>

Cathy Kendall-WT Rep <u>kendal1234@email.com</u>

Beth Frerking- Conf. Reg. <u>Elizabeth.frerking@cmcss.net</u>

Sandy Ing- door prizes, goody bags <a href="mailto:snady.ing@cmcss.net">snady.ing@cmcss.net</a>

Emmaly Fisher- ET Rep <u>fishere@rheacounty.org</u>

Carol Reams- ET Rep <u>creams@hcboe.net</u>

Bruce Hester <u>hesterb@charter.net</u>

Becky Jackman Rebecca.jackman@cmcss.net

Margaret Hausauer <u>Margaret.hausauer@cmcss.net</u>

Paige Eisemann paige.eisemann@cmcss.net